Science Fiction Achievement Awards (Hugos) BALLOT

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE VOTING:

Only members of Noreascon Three are eligible to vote. You must include your name, address, and signature in the appropriate spaces overleaf. (Your membership number isn't required, but including it will save us a little work.) Votes must be east on this ballot or a good reproduction thereof. All ballots should be sent to Noreascon Three; Box 46, MIT Branch PO; Cambridge, MA 02139, USA, and must be postmarked no later than July 15, 1989 to be counted. (If you join late, you may receive this ballot mailing after that date; please note that the site-selection ballot enclosed has a later deadline.)

This is a preferential or "Australian" ballot, which means that you should mark your choices in order of preference: "1" for first place, "2" for second place, and so on. You don't have to fill in all the places, but every vote you cast contributes to the ultimate ranking of the nominees; if your first choice is eliminated, your vote is reassigned to your next choice, and so on until someone has a majority. However, we recommend that you not vote in any category in which you are not familiar with a majority of the nominees. If you decide not to vote in a given category, leave it blank (note that "No Award" is not an abstention, but a vote that nobody should be given the award in question).

The nominees that follow were chosen by popular vote: valid nominating ballots were received from 514 members of Noreascon Three and 25 additional members of Nolacon II (last year's Worldcon). In some categories more than 5 nominations appear. This was partly due to tie votes (in one case a 3-way tie), and partly for the following reason:

In counting the votes, we observed a pattern of apparent bloc voting, of over 50 votes in some categories. These votes were sufficient to place nominees on the final ballot in five categories. Also, about half of these ballots were received with new Supporting Memberships, nearly all of which seem to have been paid for by the same person or persons. We were highly disturbed by this practice. We thought it inappropriate to invalidate the ballots in question, but we did not wish other nominees to be adversely affected by them. We thus added a sixth nominee in the categories involved (except where tie votes had produced the same result). While the WSFS Constitution does not authorize this action, we felt this would do the least damage to the Hugo process. Similarly, we included Campbell Award nominees with slightly less than the 5% vote required by the Hugo rules. We trust that the voters will render an appropriate judgment.

Subsequently, at the request of Todd Cameron Hamilton for himself and P.J. Beese, we removed from the ballot The Guardsman, by Beese and Hamilton (Novel), and Todd Cameron Hamilton (Professional Artist), which were among the beneficiaries of the bloc vote. We are satisfied that Mr. Hamilton did not take part in arranging the bloc vote or buying memberships for voters. Note that we have not determined who was responsible for the bloc voting, and that any inferences on this subject are not justified by the published facts.

BEST NOVELETTE of 1988

BEST NOVEL of 1988

Cyteen, by C.J. Cherryh (Warner; Popular Library/ Questar) Falling Free, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Analog, Dec 87-Feb 88; Bacn) Islands in the Net, by Bruce Sterling (Morrow; Ace) Mona Lisa Overdrive, by William Gibson (Gollancz; Bantam Spectra) Red Prophet, by Orson Scott Card (Tor) No Award	"Do Ya, Do Ya, Wanna Dance," by Howard Waldrop (IASFM, Aug 88) "The Function of Dream Sleep," by Harlan Ellison (Midnight Graffiti 1; IASFM, Mid-Dec 88; Angry Candy) "Ginny Sweethips' Flying Circus," by Neal Barrett, Jr. (IASFM, Feb 88) "Peaches for Mad Molly," by Steven Gould (Analog, Feb 88) "Schrödinger's Kitten," by George Alec Effinger (Omni,
BEST NOVELLA of 1988	Sep 88) No Award
"The Calvin Coolidge Home for Dead Comedians," by Bradley Denton (F&SF, Jun 88) "Journals of the Plague Years," by Norman Spinrad (Full Spectrum) "The Last of the Winnebagos," by Connic Willis (IASFM, Jul 88) "The Scalehunter's Beautiful Daughter," by Lucius Shepard (Ziesing; IASFM, Sep 88) "Surfacing," by Walter Jon Williams (IASFM, Apr 88) No Award BEST NON-FICTION BOOK of 1988 A Biographical Dictionary of Science Fiction and	BEST SHORT STORY of 1988 "The Fort Moxie Branch," by Jack McDevitt (Full Spectrum) "The Giving Plague," by David Brin (Interzone 23; Full Spectrum 2) "Kirinyaga," by Mike Resnick (F&SF, Nov 88) "Our Neural Chemobyl," by Bruce Sterling (F&SF, Jun 88) "Ripples in the Dirac Sea," by Geoffrey A. Landis (IASFM, Oct 88) "Stable Strategies for Middle Management," by Eileen Gunn (IASFM, Jun 88)
Fantasy Artists, by Robert Weinberg (Greenwood) First Maitz, by Don Maitz (Ursus) The Motion of Light in Water, by Samuel R. Delany (Morrow) The New Encyclopedia of Science Fiction, edited by James Gunn (Viking) Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror: 1987, by Charles N. Brown and William G. Contento (Locus) No Award	No Award BEST PROFESSIONAL EDITOR of 1988Gardner DozoisEdward L. FermanDavid G. HartwellCharles C. RyanStanley SchmidtNo Award

NAME	
ADDRESS	
CITYSTATE/PRO	OVINCE
COUNTRYZIP/POSTAL CODE	
SIGNATURE	
PLEASE CHECK ONE:	
I am a member of Noreascon Three (Membership Number	,)
I enclose \$20 for a Supporting Membership in Noreascon	
I enclose \$80 for an Attending Membership in Noreascon	
Please charge my MasterCard Visa OR Che	
Credit Card #	_Expiration Date
on the site of the 1992 Worldcon. Attending memberships cost \$80.0	the member to all publications and the right to vote on the Hugos and Until July 15, 1989, and also entitle the member to attend Noreascor Canadian currency [we do have a Canadian checking account]. The Make checks payable to Noreascon Three.)
Send ballots to: Noreascon Three; Box 46, N	MIT Branch PO; Cambridge, Mass 02139; USA.
Ballots must be ma	ailed by July 15, 1989.
BEST DRAMATIC PRESENTATION of 1988	BEST PROFESSIONAL ARTIST of 1988
Alien Nation	Thomas Canty
Beetlejuice	David Cherry
Big	Bob Eggleton
Who Framed Roger Rabbit	Don Maitz
Willow	Michael Whelan
No Award	No Award
BEST SEMIPROZINE of 1988 (with addresses)	BEST FAN WRITER of 1988
Interzone (cd. David Pringle) (124 Osborne Road,	Avedon Carol
Brighton BN1 6LU, United Kingdom)	Mike Glyer
Locus (ed. Charles N. Brown) (Locus Publications, PO	Arthur D. Hlavaty
Box 13305, Oakland, CA 94661)	Dave Langford
The New York Review of Science Fiction (ed. Kathryn	Guy H. Lillian, III
Cramer, David G. Hartwell, Patrick Nielsen Hayden,	Chuq Von Rospach
Teresa Nielsen Hayden, and Susan Palwick) (Dragon	No Award
Press, PO Box 78, Pleasantville, NY 10570)	
Science Fiction Chronicle (ed. Andrew I, Porter) (PO	BEST FAN ARTIST of 1988
Box 2730, Brooklyn, NY 11202-0056)	Brad W. Foster
Thrust (ed. D. Douglas Fratz) (Thrust Publications,	Teddy Harvia
8217 Langport Terrace, Gaithersburg, MD 20877)	Merle Insinga
No Award	Stu Shiffman
BEST FANZINE of 1988 (with addresses)	Taral Wayne
File 770 (ed. Mike Glyer) (5828 Woodman Ave. #2,	Diana Gallagher Wu No Award
Van Nuys, CA 91401)	NU Awaid
FOSFAX (ed. Timothy Lane) (% FOSFA, PO Box	JOHN W. CAMPBELL AWARD (not a Hugo)
37281, Louisville, KY 40233-7281)	for Best New Writer of 1987-1988
Lan's Lantern (ed. George "Lan" Laskowski) (55	(sponsored by Davis Publications)
Valley Way, Bloomfield Hills, MI 48013)	P.J. Beese and Todd Cameron Hamilton ¹
Niekas (ed. Edmund R. Meškys, Mike Bastraw, and	Christopher Hinz ²
Anne Braude) (Niekas Publications, RFD 2, Box 63,	Melanie Rawn ¹
Center Harbor, NH 03226-9729)	Michaela Roessner¹
Other Realms (ed. Chuq Von Rospach) (35111-F	Kristine Kathryn Rusch ¹
Newark Blvd. Suite 255, Newark, CA 94560)	William Sanders¹
No Award	Delia Sherman ²
	No Award
	¹ first year of eligibility ² second and final year of eligibility